Founder Members:


ANSA_Prof Petra Brysiewicz2Prof Petra Brysiewicz

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location: UKZN, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban

ANSA_Mrs Kath DefilippiMrs Kath Defillipi

Area: Palliative Care

Location: HPCA – Palliative Care Consultant


ANSA_Ms Louwna Pretorius and Dr Linda Grainger2Dr Linda Grainger

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: UK


ANSA_Dr Tanya HeynsDr Tanya Heyns

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location: UP, University of Pretoria


ANSA_Dr Carin MareeDr Carin Maree

Area: Neonatal Nursing

Dr Carin Maree’s career has included working in various areas of neonatal and child nursing, nursing management, nursing education and research. She has been involved with nursing education since 1999 within the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Pretoria, where she was responsible for the development of the postbasic and postgraduate programmes in neonatal nursing science. She is currently Senior Lecturer responsible for management of the postbasic and postgraduate clinical nursing programmes and research accompaniment of master’s and doctoral students. Dr Maree is a founding fellow of ANSA and serves on the committees of NNASA, SANITSA and FUNDISA, and is a member of various professional bodies. She has presented at national and international conferences and has been published in national and international journals. Dr Maree’s main interests are neonatal intensive care nursing science, reflective learning and teaching, wholebrain (holistic) learning, nursing education, qualitative research and nursing management.


ANSA_Prof Magda MulderProfessor Magda Mulder

Area: Wound Care

Location: UFS, University of the Free State


ANSA_Ms Louwna Pretorius and Dr Linda Grainger2Ms Louwna Pretorius

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: Corobrik


Ms Louwna Pretorius is the National Occupational Health Services Co-ordinator for  Corobrik Pty (Ltd). She is a SHE (Occupational Safety, Health and Environmental) Consultant, Auditor and an accredited facilitator, assessor and moderator.  Ms Pretorius has extensive experience in the field of ISO 14001 and OHSAS management systems. She is a member of ICOH (International Committee on Occ Health) and has been the Chairperson for SCOHN (Scientific committee on Occupational Health Nursing) within ICOH since 2008. Ms Pretorius is a former past president of SASOHN (SA Society of Occ Health Nursing practitioners) and was a member of SANC from 2003 – 2008.

ANSA_Dr Heilie UysDr Heilie Uys

Area: Nephrology Nursing

Location: Retired, Part-time Nephrology Nurse Consultant


Nokuzola Cynthia MzoloNokuzola Cynthia Mzolo

Area: Midwifery

Location: DOH KZN, Department of Health KwaZulu-Natal


Ms Dolly NyasuluMs Dolly Nyasulu

Area: Midwifery




ANSA_Prof Mary ChabeliProf Mary Chabeli

Area: Teaching Reflective Thinking

Location: UJ, University of Johannesburg


ANSA_Prof Hester KlopperProf Hester Klopper

Area: Educational Unit Development



ANSA_Prof Dalena van Rooyen 2Prof Dalena van Rooyen

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: NMMU, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

ANSA_Dr Sharon VasuthevanDr Sharon Vasuthevan

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Life Healthcare

ANSA_Prof N GweleProf Nomthandazo Gwele

Area: Educational System Development

Location: DUT, Durban University of Technology

Leader & Manager

ANSA_ Ms Eileen BranniganMs Eileen Brannigan

Area: Private Sector


Eileen Brannigan championed the cause of nurses and the nursing profession, as well as played an active role in nursing management systems that promoted quality patient care. She played a leading role in uniting the organised profession to form DENOSA and served on the South African Nursing Council, chairing the Laws and Ethics Committee. As a nursing leader in the private sector, Ms Brannigan developed nursing staffing norms, salary structures and systems that advanced quality nursing care.

ANSA_Prof Mavis MulaudziDr Mavis Mulaudzi

Area: Ethics


ANSA_Prof Marie Poggenpoel1Prof Marie Poggenpoel

Area: Qualitative Research

Location: UJ, University of Johannesburg

New Fellows

ANSA_Prof Sinegugu DumaProf Sinegugu Duma


Location: UCT, University of Cape Town

ANSA_Prof Judith BruceProf Judith Bruce


Location: WITS, University of Witwatersrand

Professor Judy Bruce has been an advocate for nursing education and scholarship for many years. She has mentored many nurse academics not only in South Africa, but also on the African continent, and has worked constantly to improve nursing education, at both universities and nursing colleges. Her expertise has been recognized at the highest level as evidenced by her appointment on the Ministerial Task Team on Nursing Education and Training and as member of the Standing Committee on Health of the Academy of Science of South Africa. She has recently been appointed as Chairperson of the International Academic Nursing Alliance.

Prof Bruce is therefore recognized for her work on:  Education Unit Development 

ANSA_Shannon NellMs Shannon Nell


Location: Netcare

ANSA_Prof Gisela Van RensburgProf Gisela van Rensburg


Location: UNISA

ANSA_Nelouise-Marie GeyerMs Nelouise-Marie Geyer


Location: NEA, Nursing Education Association

Nelouise-Marie Geyer has been an advocate for the nursing profession for many years. She presented the profession and DENOSA on various professional forums nationally and internationally. She was elected as a member of the SANC from 2003 to 2008 and appointed as a member of the Ministerial Task Team on nursing education and training. Her dedication to nursing education, practice and research is evident by her role as acting editor of Nursing Update and Curationis and appointment as associate editor of the International Journal of African Nursing Science. As CEO of NEA she is actively involved in the professional development of nurse educators.

Nelouise Geyer is therefore recognized for her: Leadership in building professional practice in nursing in SA

Comments are closed.