Board Members


Prof Dalena van Rooyen

Prof Dalena van Rooyen

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: NMMU, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Professor Dalena van Rooyen is currently the Director of the School of Clinical Sciences at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University. She is one of the professional editors for the journal Health SA Gesondheid and the chairperson if the Academy of Nursing for South Africa as well as the Vice-Chairperson for the Nursing Educational Association. She is lead researcher on a number of research projects, including an international project on barriers to mental healthcare and has a special interest in evidence-based practice, as well as using technology to improve patient outcomes in various healthcare settings.


Dr Sharon VasuthevanDr Sharon Vasuthevan

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Life Healthcare

Dr Sharon Vasuthevan is currently the Group Nursing Executive of the Life Healthcare private hospital group. Dr Vasuthevan has contributed significantly to Nursing Education through her work and affiliations at various professional levels. She has been the Chairperson of the Nursing Education Association from 2005 to date, and was appointed as a member of the 14th & 15th South African Nursing Councils, and currently serves as the Vice-Chairperson. Dr Vasuthevan is also Vice-Chairperson of the Interim Board of ANSA, Chair of the Education Committee of the Council, African representative on the ICN Education Network, a Trustee of the Nursing Foundation of South Africa and Chairperson of the Life College of Learning Council. She is the editor of the De Haan’s Health of Southern Africa 10th edition and has published various articles and chapters on nursing education and leadership.



Dr Heilie UysDr Heilie Uys

Area: Nephrology Nursing

Location: Retired, Part-time Nephrology Nurse Consultant



ANSA_Prof Petra BrysiewiczProf Petra Brysiewicz

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location: UKZN, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban



ANSA_Prof Marie PoggenpoelProf Marie Poggenpoel

Area: Qualitative Research

Location: UJ, University of Johannesburg


ANSA_Ms Louwna Pretorius and Dr Linda GraingerMs Louwna Pretorius


Location: Corobrik

Ms Louwna Pretorius is the National Occupational Health Services Co-ordinator for  Corobrik Pty (Ltd). She is a SHE (Occupational Safety, Health and Environmental) Consultant, Auditor and an accredited facilitator, assessor and moderator.  Ms Pretorius has extensive experience in the field of ISO 14001 and OHSAS management systems. She is a member of ICOH (International Committee on Occ Health) and has been the Chairperson for SCOHN (Scientific committee on Occupational Health Nursing) within ICOH since 2008. Ms Pretorius is a former past president of SASOHN (SA Society of Occ Health Nursing practitioners) and was a member of SANC from 2003 – 2008.


Comments are closed.