New Fellows (2014)

Dr Sue Armstrong

Dr Sue ArmstrongCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: University of Witwatersrand (WITS)

E-mail: sue.armstrong@wits.ac.za

Dr Sue Armstrong has been a strong advocate for quality assurance in education and practice throughout her


Prof Busisiwe Bhengu

Prof Busi BhenguCategory: Clinician

Area: Critical Care Nursing

Location: University of Kwa Zulu-Natal (UKZN), South African Nursing Council (SANC)

E-mail: bhengub2@ukzn.ac.za

Professor Busi Bhengu has been extensively involved in nursing education, and specifically critical care


Prof Yvonne Botma

Prof Yvonne BotmaCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: University of the Free State (UFS)

E-mail: botmay@ufs.ac.za

Professor Yvonne Botma is an associate professor and lead researcher on educational strategies to promote


Dr Estelle Coustas

Ms Estelle JordaanCategory: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Mediclinic

E-mail: estelle.coustas@mediclinic.co.za

Apart from the leadership skills Dr Estelle Coustas has demonstrated in her ten years as Mediclinic’s


Mrs Lesley Fletcher

Mrs Lesley FletcherCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: Life Healthcare

E-mail: lesley.fletcher@lifehealthcare.co.za

As one of the pioneers of private nursing education in South Africa, Mrs Fletcher took up the challenge of


Prof Lize Maree

Prof Lize MareeCategory: Clinician

Area: Oncology Nursing

Location: University of Witwatersrand (WITS)

E-mail: lize.maree@wits.ac.za

Professor Lize Maree’s ANSA nomination is based on her contribution to the field of oncology and palliative


Mrs Annelie Meiring

Annelie Meiring-1Category: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Forum for Professional Nurse Leaders (FNPL)

E-mail: anneliemeiring@gmail.com

Mrs Annelie Meiring’s leadership expertise and extensive experience in health service management is


Dr Kgaogelo Elizabeth Mokoka

Dr Elizabeth MokokaCategory: Clinician

Area: Ophthalmic Nursing

Location: UNEDSA, FUNDISA

E-mail: pm.unedsa@edunurse.co.za

Dr Elizabeth Mokoka has a wealth of experience in training and mentoring, including the training of trainers


Prof Elzabé Nel

Prof NelCategory: Clinician

Area: Critical Care Nursing

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: ewnel@uj.ac.za

Professor Elzabe Nel, of the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Johannesburg, demonstrated


Prof Anna Nolte

Prof Anna NolteCategory: Clinician

Area: Midwifery

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: agwnolte@uj.ac.za

Prof Anna Nolte is well-known nationally and internationally for being an expert in Midwifery. She has been


Dr Penelope Orton

Mrs Penny OrtonCategory: Clinician

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: DUT (Durban University of Technology)

E-mail: pennyo@dut.ac.za

Dr Penny Orton has been an Occupational Health Nurse Practitioner for 16 years prior to moving into


Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu

Dr Doriccah PeuCategory: Clinician

Area: Community Health Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)

E-mail: doriccah.peu@up.ac.za

Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu, a Senior Lecturer and Programme Manager of the (BCur I et A) programme has


Mr Fasie Smith

Mr Petrus (Fasie) SmithCategory: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Life Healthcare

E-mail: fasie.smith@lifehealthcare.co.za

Mr Petrus (Fasie) Smith has been a nurse working in nursing practice for 38 years. Mr Smith is an Executive