Founder Members



ANSA_Prof Petra Brysiewicz2Prof Petra Brysiewicz

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location:  University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban (UKZN)


Professor Petra Brysiewicz is a full professor in the School of Nursing and Public Health at the University of…

ANSA_Mrs Kath DefilippiMrs Kath Defillipi

Area: Palliative Care

Location: Hospice Palliative Care Association of SA (HPCA) 


Mrs Kath Defilippi coordinated the development of the SANC-recognized Short Course in Palliative Nursing..

ANSA_Dr Tanya HeynsDr Tanya Heyns

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)


Dr Tanya Heyns is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Nursing Science within the Faculty of Health

ANSA_Dr Carin Maree 1Dr Carin Maree

Area: Neonatal Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)


Dr Maree is currently a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Pretoria

ANSA_Prof Magda MulderProf Magda Mulder

Area: Wound Care

Location: University of the Free State (UFS)


Prof Magda Mulder has developed and established wound care as a speciality area at the School of Nursing

Ms Nokuzola Cynthia MzoloMs Nokuzola Cynthia Mzolo

Area: Midwifery

Location: Department of Health KwaZulu-Natal (DOH KZN)


Ms Mzolo has been a District Clinical Specialist Advanced Midwife at Sisonke/Harry Gwala District in

Ms Dolly NyasuluMs Dolly Nyasulu

Area: Midwifery

Location: University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban (UKZN)


ANSA_Ms Louwna PretoriusMs Louwna Pretorius

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: Corobrik


Ms Louwna Pretorius is the National Occupational Health Services Coordinator for Corobrik Pty (Ltd). She is

ANSA_Dr Heilie UysDr Heilie Uys

Area: Nephrology Nursing

Location: Part-time Nephrology Nurse Consultant, Retired


Dr Heilie Uys is a trained Nephrology Nurse and has been involved in dialysis and transplantation since


ANSA_Prof Mavis MulaudziProf Mavis Mulaudzi

Area: Ethics

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)


Prof Fhumulani Mavis Mulaudzi is the Head of Department of Nursing Science and Chairperson of the School

ANSA_Prof Marie Poggenpoel1

Prof Marie Poggenpoel

Area: Qualitative Research

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)


Professor Marie Poggenpoel has been a tenured professor in Psychiatric Nursing Science at the University of


ANSA_Prof Mary ChabeliProf Mary Chabeli

Area: Teaching Reflective Thinking

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)


Prof Mary Chabeli is a full professor in nursing education at the University of Johannesburg where she is

ANSA_Prof N GweleProf Nomthandazo Gwele

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Durban University of Technology (DUT)


Professor Nomathandazo Gwele is Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic at the Durban University of

ANSA_Prof Hester KlopperProf Hester Klopper

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: FUNDISA (STTI)


Prof Hester Klopper is an international academic and professional leader with extensive international

ANSA_Prof Dalena van Rooyen 2

Prof Dalena van Rooyen

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)


Professor Dalena van Rooyen is currently the Director of the School of Clinical Care Sciences at the Nelson

ANSA_Dr Sharon VasuthevanDr Sharon Vasuthevan

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Life Healthcare


Dr Sharon Vasuthevan is currently the Group Nursing Executive of the Life Healthcare private hospital group.

Leader & Manager

ANSA_ Ms Eileen BranniganMs Eileen Brannigan

Area: Private Sector


Ms Eileen Brannigan championed the cause of nurses and the nursing profession,