Fellows

 

ANSA FELLOWS

Name

Email

Dr Sue Armstrong sue.armstrong@wits.ac.za
Ms Penelope Bellad-Ellis pennyb@mtnloaded.co.za
Prof Busisiwe Bhengu bhengub2@ukzn.ac.za
Prof Yvonne Botma botmay@ufs.ac.za
Ms Eileen Brannigan icdolphins@gmail.com
Prof Judith Bruce judith.bruce@wits.ac.za
Prof Petra Brysiewicz brysiewiczp@ukzn.ac.za
Mrs Joy Cleghorn joy.cleghorn@lifehealthcare.co.za 
Dr Isabel Coetzee isabel.coetzee@up.ac.za 
Dr Estelle Coustas estelle.coustas@mediclinic.co.za
Ms Kath Defillipi kath@hpca.co.za
Prof Sinegugu Duma sinegugu.duma@uct.ac.za
Dr Suzette du Rand suzette.duRand@nmmu.ac.za
Mrs Lesley Fletcher lesley.fletcher@lifehealthcare.co.za
Dr Nelouise-Marie Geyer ceo.nea@edunurse.co.za
Prof Nomthandazo Gwele dvacademic@dut.ac.za
Dr Tanya Heyns tanya.heyns@up.ac.za
Prof Sarie Human humansp@unisa.ac.za
Prof Karien Jooste kjooste@uwc.ac.za
Ms Fatima Khan fatima.khan@Lifehealthcare.co.za
Prof Hester Klopper ceo.fundisa@edunurse.co.za
Dr Una Kyriacos kyriacos@uct.ac.za
Dr Carin Maree carin.maree@up.ac.za
Prof Lize Maree lize.maree@wits.ac.za
Prof Jeanette Maritz maritje@unisa.ac.za
Mrs Annelie Meiring anneliemeiring@gmail.com
Mrs Karen Michell karen@cosafety.co.za
Dr Kgaogelo Elizabeth Mokoka pm.unedsa@edunurse.co.za
Prof Mavis Mulaudzi mavis.mulaudzi@up.ac.za
Prof Magda Mulder gnvkmm@ufs.ac.za
Ms Nokuzola Cynthia Mzolo nokuzola.mzolo@kznhealth.gov.za
Prof Elzabé Nel ewnel@uj.ac.za
Ms Shannon Nell shannon.nell@netcare.co.za
Prof Anna Nolte agwnolte@uj.ac.za
Ms Dolly Nyasulu nyasulu@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Penelope Orton pennyo@dut.ac.za
Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu doriccah.peu@up.ac.za
Ms Louwna Pretorius louwna.pretorius@corobrik.co.za
Mrs Elmarie Radov elmarie.radov@nrc.co.za
Dr Shelley Schmollgruber shelley.schmollgruber@wits.ac.za
Prof Nokuthula Sibiya nokuthulas@dut.ac.za
Mr Fasie Smith fasie.smith@lifehealthcare.co.za
Prof Ethelwynn Stellenberg elstel@sun.ac.za
Dr Heilie Uys huys@ibi.co.za
Prof Anita van der Merwe asvandermerwe@sun.ac.za
Prof Gisela van Rensburg vrensgh@unisa.ac.za
Prof Dalena van Rooyen dalena.vanrooyen@nmmu.ac.za
Prof Neltjie van Wyk neltjie.vanwyk@up.ac.za
Dr Sharon Vasuthevan sharon.vasuthevan@lifehealthcare.co.za
Mrs Anne Williamson anne.williamson@lifehealthcare.co.za

 

Founder Members:

Clinicians

ANSA_Prof Petra Brysiewicz2Prof Petra Brysiewicz

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location:  University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban (UKZN)

E-mail: brysiewiczp@ukzn.ac.za

Professor Petra Brysiewicz is a full professor in the School of Nursing and Public Health at the University of…


ANSA_Mrs Kath DefilippiMrs Kath Defillipi

Area: Palliative Care

Location: Hospice Palliative Care Association of SA (HPCA) 

E-mail: kath@hpca.co.za

Mrs Kath Defilippi coordinated the development of the SANC-recognized Short Course in Palliative Nursing..


 

ANSA_Dr Tanya HeynsDr Tanya Heyns

Area: Emergency Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)

E-mail: tanya.heyns@up.ac.za

Dr Tanya Heyns is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Nursing Science within the Faculty of Health


ANSA_Dr Carin Maree 1Dr Carin Maree

Area: Neonatal Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)

E-mail: carin.maree@up.ac.za

Dr Maree is currently a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Pretoria


ANSA_Prof Magda MulderProf Magda Mulder

Area: Wound Care

Location: University of the Free State (UFS)

E-mail: gnvkmm@ufs.ac.za

Prof Magda Mulder has developed and established wound care as a speciality area at the School of Nursing


Ms Nokuzola Cynthia MzoloMs Nokuzola Cynthia Mzolo

Area: Midwifery

Location: Department of Health KwaZulu-Natal (DOH KZN)

E-mail: nokuzola.mzolo@kznhealth.gov.za

Ms Mzolo has been a District Clinical Specialist Advanced Midwife at Sisonke/Harry Gwala District in


Ms Dolly NyasuluMs Dolly Nyasulu

Area: Midwifery

Location: University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban (UKZN)

E-mail: nyasulu@ukzn.ac.za


ANSA_Ms Louwna PretoriusMs Louwna Pretorius

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: Corobrik

E-mail: louwna.pretorius@corobrik.co.za

Ms Louwna Pretorius is the National Occupational Health Services Coordinator for Corobrik Pty (Ltd). She is

 


ANSA_Dr Heilie UysDr Heilie Uys

Area: Nephrology Nursing

Location: Part-time Nephrology Nurse Consultant, Retired

E-mail: huys@ibi.co.za

Dr Heilie Uys is a trained Nephrology Nurse and has been involved in dialysis and transplantation since


 Scholars

ANSA_Prof Mavis MulaudziProf Mavis Mulaudzi

Area: Ethics

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)

E-mail: mavis.mulaudzi@up.ac.za

Prof Fhumulani Mavis Mulaudzi is the Head of Department of Nursing Science and Chairperson of the School


ANSA_Prof Marie Poggenpoel1

Prof Marie Poggenpoel

Area: Qualitative Research

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: mariep@uj.ac.za

Professor Marie Poggenpoel has been a tenured professor in Psychiatric Nursing Science at the University of


Educators

ANSA_Prof Mary ChabeliProf Mary Chabeli

Area: Teaching Reflective Thinking

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: 

Prof Mary Chabeli is a full professor in nursing education at the University of Johannesburg where she is


ANSA_Prof N GweleProf Nomthandazo Gwele

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Durban University of Technology (DUT)

E-mail: dvacademic@dut.ac.za

Professor Nomathandazo Gwele is Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic at the Durban University of


ANSA_Prof Hester KlopperProf Hester Klopper

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: FUNDISA (STTI)

E-mail: ceo.fundisa@edunurse.co.za

Prof Hester Klopper is an international academic and professional leader with extensive international


ANSA_Prof Dalena van Rooyen 2

Prof Dalena van Rooyen

Area: Educational Unit Development

Location: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)

E-mail: dalena.vanrooyen@nmmu.ac.za

Professor Dalena van Rooyen is currently the Director of the School of Clinical Care Sciences at the Nelson


ANSA_Dr Sharon VasuthevanDr Sharon Vasuthevan

Area: Educational System Development

Location: Life Healthcare

E-mail: sharon.vasuthevan@lifehealthcare.co.za

Dr Sharon Vasuthevan is currently the Group Nursing Executive of the Life Healthcare private hospital group.


Leader & Manager

ANSA_ Ms Eileen BranniganMs Eileen Brannigan

Area: Private Sector

E-mail: icdolphins@gmail.com

Ms Eileen Brannigan championed the cause of nurses and the nursing profession,


New Fellows (2014)

Dr Sue Armstrong

Dr Sue ArmstrongCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: University of Witwatersrand (WITS)

E-mail: sue.armstrong@wits.ac.za

Dr Sue Armstrong has been a strong advocate for quality assurance in education and practice throughout her


Prof Busisiwe Bhengu

Prof Busi BhenguCategory: Clinician

Area: Critical Care Nursing

Location: University of Kwa Zulu-Natal (UKZN), South African Nursing Council (SANC)

E-mail: bhengub2@ukzn.ac.za

Professor Busi Bhengu has been extensively involved in nursing education, and specifically critical care


Prof Yvonne Botma

Prof Yvonne BotmaCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: University of the Free State (UFS)

E-mail: botmay@ufs.ac.za

Professor Yvonne Botma is an associate professor and lead researcher on educational strategies to promote


Dr Estelle Coustas

Ms Estelle JordaanCategory: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Mediclinic

E-mail: estelle.coustas@mediclinic.co.za

Apart from the leadership skills Dr Estelle Coustas has demonstrated in her ten years as Mediclinic’s


Mrs Lesley Fletcher

Mrs Lesley FletcherCategory: Educator

Area: Nursing Education

Location: Life Healthcare

E-mail: lesley.fletcher@lifehealthcare.co.za

As one of the pioneers of private nursing education in South Africa, Mrs Fletcher took up the challenge of


Prof Lize Maree

Prof Lize MareeCategory: Clinician

Area: Oncology Nursing

Location: University of Witwatersrand (WITS)

E-mail: lize.maree@wits.ac.za

Professor Lize Maree’s ANSA nomination is based on her contribution to the field of oncology and palliative


Mrs Annelie Meiring

Annelie Meiring-1Category: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Forum for Professional Nurse Leaders (FNPL)

E-mail: anneliemeiring@gmail.com

Mrs Annelie Meiring’s leadership expertise and extensive experience in health service management is


Dr Kgaogelo Elizabeth Mokoka

Dr Elizabeth MokokaCategory: Clinician

Area: Ophthalmic Nursing

Location: UNEDSA, FUNDISA

E-mail: pm.unedsa@edunurse.co.za

Dr Elizabeth Mokoka has a wealth of experience in training and mentoring, including the training of trainers


Prof Elzabé Nel

Prof NelCategory: Clinician

Area: Critical Care Nursing

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: ewnel@uj.ac.za

Professor Elzabe Nel, of the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Johannesburg, demonstrated


Prof Anna Nolte

Prof Anna NolteCategory: Clinician

Area: Midwifery

Location: University of Johannesburg (UJ)

E-mail: agwnolte@uj.ac.za

Prof Anna Nolte is well-known nationally and internationally for being an expert in Midwifery. She has been


Dr Penelope Orton

Mrs Penny OrtonCategory: Clinician

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: DUT (Durban University of Technology)

E-mail: pennyo@dut.ac.za

Dr Penny Orton has been an Occupational Health Nurse Practitioner for 16 years prior to moving into


Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu

Dr Doriccah PeuCategory: Clinician

Area: Community Health Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)

E-mail: doriccah.peu@up.ac.za

Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu, a Senior Lecturer and Programme Manager of the (BCur I et A) programme has


Mr Fasie Smith

Mr Petrus (Fasie) SmithCategory: Leader & Manager

Area: Private Sector

Location: Life Healthcare

E-mail: fasie.smith@lifehealthcare.co.za

Mr Petrus (Fasie) Smith has been a nurse working in nursing practice for 38 years. Mr Smith is an Executive


New Fellows (2013)

Prof Judith Bruce

ANSA_Prof Judith Bruce

Category: Educator

Area: Education Unit Development

Location: University of Witwatersrand (WITS)

E-mail: judith.bruce@wits.ac.za

Professor Judy Bruce has been an advocate for nursing education and scholarship for many years. She has


Prof Sinegugu Duma

ANSA_Prof Sinegugu Duma

Category: Clinician

Area: Clinical Nursing

Location: University of Cape Town (UCT)

E-mail: sinegugu.duma@uct.ac.za

Using her expertise in nursing education curriculum development, Prof Sine Duma’s extra-ordinary


Dr Nelouise-Marie Geyer

ANSA_Nelouise-Marie Geyer

Category: Leader & Manager

Area: Professional Practice

Location: Nursing Education Association (NEA)

E-mail: ceo.nea@edunurse.co.za

Dr Nelouise-Marie Geyer has been an advocate for the nursing profession for many years and has presented


Ms Shannon Nell

ANSA_Shannon Nell

Category: Educator

Area: Education Unit Development

Location: Netcare

E-mail: shannon.nell@netcare.co.za

Ms Shannon Nell is currently in a strategic leadership position as the director of nursing and nursing


Prof Gisela van Rensburg

ANSA_Prof Gisela Van Rensburg

Category: Educator

Area: Teaching Nursing Research

Location: University of South Africa (UNISA)

E-mail: vrensgh@unisa.ac.za

Prof Gisela van Rensburg is well-known for her passion to educate, develop and capacitate nurses to do