Board Members




Prof Sarie Human: 

Area: Community Health Nursing

Location: University of South Africa (UNISA)


Prof Sarie Human fully endorses the vision and mission of the ANSA. She shows leadership in both Nursing Education and in the promotion of professional practice for nurses and midwives. She has been actively involved in the facilitation of quality Nursing Education at both the University of Pretoria and the University of South Africa since 1975. She is a strategic-level member of the Tuition Committees at the University of South Africa at Departmental, School, and College and Senate level. She has been consulted by NEIs on curriculation issues to comply with legislative changes. As a member of the South African Nursing Council, she has been a member of the Education Committee as well as the Laws, Practice and Standards Committee since 2009. During this time, she was actively involved in the development of innovative supporting documents to NEIs and education-related documents to enhance effectiveness and quality. Prof Human has completed research at national and international levels and has published extensively in national and international peer-reviewed journals and books. She has successfully supervised more than 30 postgraduate students.



Prof Anita vd Merwe

Area: Management

Location: Stellenbosch University


Prof Anita van der Merwe’s deeper background in philosophy, qualitative research, education and leadership was applied in a number of senior positions and activities.


Prof Karen Minnie

Area: Associate Professor

Location: North-West University


Karin Minnie has excelled in various roles over the last years.  Her primary passion is Midwifery



Mrs Penny OrtonDr Penelope Orton

Area: Occupational Health Nursing

Location: DUT (Durban University of Technology)


Dr Penny Orton has been an Occupational Health Nurse Practitioner for 16 years prior to moving into academia and a member of the South African Society of Occupational Health Nurses (SASOHN) since 1989. During this time, Dr Orton has been an active member of her professional society. She has been involved in moderating the Occupational Health Nursing competencies for the SANC and has developed a blended learning programme for Occupational Health Nursing specialization at the Durban University of Technology. Dr Orton is currently the National Education representative for the SASOHN and thus responsible for the continuing education of Occupational Health Nurse Practitioners in South Africa.


prof-dorothy-peuProf Mmapheko Doriccah Peu

Area: Community Health Nursing

Location: University of Pretoria (UP)


Prof Mmapheko Doriccah Peu, a Senior Lecturer and Programme Manager of the (BCur I et A) programme has contributed comprehensively to the nursing profession overall: 15 years in practice and 18 years in academia. Firstly, before joining the University of Pretoria, Prof Peu served as a primary health care nurse and focused on improving service delivery through preventive, promotive, curative and rehabilitative strategies. Prof Peu has been involved in teaching community nursing and developing a curriculum for this subject and has also shared her experience of teaching, and how primary health care is rendered in South Africa, with international communities such as Colorado in the USA and Kalskrona University in Sweden. She is Chairperson of Best Practice Guidelines in Gauteng in collaboration with UP, TUT, UL, Ga-Rankuwa College of Nursing, Tshwane and Jubilee hospitals in order to improve the practice of nurses.

prof-gisela-van-rensburgProf Gisela van Rensburg

Area: Teaching Nursing Research

Location: University of South Africa (UNISA)


Prof Gisela van Rensburg is well-known for her passion to educate, develop and capacitate nurses to do research. As nurse educator, she champions for nursing education and the development of research skills amongst nurses by being actively involved in capacity-building projects at institutions other than the UNISA where she works. Prof van Rensburg belongs to various professional bodies where she can have maximum impact.  In addition, Prof van Rensburg also made a major contribution toward the success of the Nursing Education Association (NEA) novice researcher programme.

FOUNDING BOARD (2011-2014):

President:                 Prof Dalena van Rooyen
Vice-President:        Dr Sharon Vasuthevan
Treasurer:                 Dr Heilie Uys
Secretary:                 Prof Petra Brysiewicz
Members:                 Prof Marie Poggenpoel &  Ms Louwna Pretorius