ANSA – Academy of Nursing of South Africa


The vision of ANSA is to recognize, utilize and promote excellence in nursing and midwifery in South Africa and to enhance optimal health care for all South Africans.


The Mission of ANSA is to serve the people of South Africa and to contribute to the nursing profession by promoting excellence in nursing and health care through the generation, synthesis and dissemination of nursing knowledge, particularly in specialist areas.


In all its activities, ANSA is committed to:

  • Promotion of excellence in all aspects of nursing;
  • Promotion of evidence-based policy and practice in health care;
  • Working collaboratively with other organizations and stakeholders who share this commitment.

Colloquium 2016 – Gallery

Click here to view the full gallery

Colloquium 2016

Click Here to view this years presentations


Click here to download our Year Plan for 2016


Prof Sarie Human has been elected as the new ANSA President


Dr Penny Orton has been elected as the new ANSA Secretary


Prof Dorothy Peu and Prof Gisela van Rensburg has been elected as new ANSA Board Members

ANSA Board Members 2016/2017

(from left to right: Prof Peu, Dr Orton (Secretary), Dr Uys (Treasurer), Prof Human (President), Prof van Rensburg, Dr Mokoka (Vice-President))

(from left to right: Prof Peu, Dr Orton (Secretary), Dr Uys (Treasurer), Prof Human (President), Prof van Rensburg, Dr Mokoka (Vice-President))

Annual Colloquium Report for 31 July 2015

Please click here to download the Annual Colloquium Report for 31 July 2015 

Inauguration of New Fellows – 2016

We have the pleasure in announcing that eighteen new ANSA Fellows were inaugurated at annual Colloquium  on the 26 and 27 August 2016 in Johannesburg


ANSA Board: 2016

The third Annual General Meeting of the Academy took place on Friday, 4 September 2015 at the Olive Convention Centre in Durban. The Fellows voted for the new Vice-President, Treasurer and Member for 2016, and we would like to congratulate the newly-elected Fellows onto the Board who will lead ANSA in 2016.

Prof Judy Bruce was originally elected at the AGM as the new Vice-President; however, since her election, Prof Bruce has respectfully declined this new position and the Board has consequently called for another round of nominations in which Dr Elizabeth Mokoka successfully received the most votes. We wish to thank Dr Sharon Vasuthevan, our previous Vice-President, for her wonderful contribution to the organization over the past few years, as well as welcome Dr Elizabeth Mokoka as the newly-elected Vice President of the ANSA Board. In addition, we would like to congratulate Dr Penny Orton, our newly-elected member to the Board, as well as Dr Heilie Uys, who was re-elected as our treasurer.

The ANSA Board members for 2016 are thus as follows:

President:           Prof Dalena van Rooyen
Vice-President:   Dr Elizabeth Mokoka
Secretary:           Prof Petra Brysiewicz
Treasurer:           Dr Heilie Uys
Member:             Dr Penny Orton
Member:             Ms Louwna Pretorius

ANSA Brochure 2015


Click here to view our latest ANSA brochure

ANSA NPO Registration

ANSA is proud to announce that its NPO registration has been successful!

Our registration number is: 158-024 NPO


Click here to view the latest APPSA news